Wordless(ish) Wednesday: Best Friends

2 Nov

I’ve been getting a little sentimental lately – I know this move has been hard on Paul and I – but what has it been like for our little one?  Does she think this is just a vacation away from home?  She seems happy here – she’s still our bubbly, smiley Zoey – but in New York she had little cousins and her best friends to play with all the time.  She must miss everyone.  And I mean how advanced is a toddler’s memory – will she remember everyone’s faces when we return?  I’ve been looking through pictures to blow up and put into a photo album so she can put a face with the name.  I really think it would help.. On the other hand – is this just me putting my own feelings on Zoey?  I miss home.  It’s hard not knowing when we’ll be back to visit – with no purchased plane ticket or road trip planned.  Deep down I think I’m worried people will forget about us.  It’s only been two weeks – does this homesickness get any easier?

(linking up: the paper mama, and then she snappedjenni from the blog)

8 Responses to “Wordless(ish) Wednesday: Best Friends”

  1. Libby Booska November 2, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    People will not forget about ya’ll and it does get easier, but that want to be “home” with family never really subsides. We moved from New Hampshire to Vermont 7 years ago this month. ALL of our family besides my moms brother and my dads sister live in Vermont and New Hampshire. We miss them everyday but we just keep in contact and visit when we can. I think making a photo album with pictures and the persons name on the picture would be a great thing for your daughter! I hope your homesickness will subside some!!!

  2. Ashley November 2, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    It’ll get better meggy. It usually takes at least 6 months before I feel really comfortable in a new place, and even longer if I don’t make friends right away. It’s always hard to be away from family and close friends, you are always going to miss them, but it’ll get better!

    • Pauly and Meg November 3, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      Thanks ash! Some days are better than others – I knew this would be hard – but I don’t think I realized just how difficult it really is.

  3. Brittany November 2, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Come homeee!!!! This literally made me burst into tears when i saw bestfriends and Brayden and Zoey beneath it! We miss you guys sooo much!

    • Pauly and Meg November 3, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      I love themmm! We miss you guys TONS! I’m crossing my fingers we’ll be home for Christmas!

  4. Sarah November 2, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Aww. So sorry. Hope you get to visit home soon.

  5. katie November 4, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I’m sorry you are struggling. Although we’ve never made a big move, I still feel homesick from the place we truly considered our dream place to live. But, other plans were in store for us. I’m learning to love where we live because I have those I love the most with me. : ) Hang in there!

  6. Digger November 4, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I found your blog from the link up on Casey’s site. I’m so glad I did. It’s great! I’m a new follower. I’m going to go look around some more, but don’t stress it will get easier. I moved 2300 miles from my closest family. It’s been hard at times, but it’s brought “my” family closer together and we’ve grown so much because of it!

    Digger ~xoxo~
    http://www.digdeeperdesign.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

